Internship for Summer 2013: National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

So another summer, another internship except this is not just another internship. This is THE internship. It’s with an established company, it pays, it is in the field of work that I want to work in. It’s the holy grail of internships because it is the peak…to bad that it ends in about 8 weeks. Mind you I just started today so not much has happened yet but it will definitely pick up. It has too. I have not waited this long to not do my best in my chosen field. I actually will get to use what I learned in college. I mean this could be the internship…or it could also show that I am not ready for this. It is time for me to start looking beyond the walls of academia. Time to look at what I have waited for: adulthood.

No, I cannot even think about that because as I have gotten older have I gotten a glimpse of what it means to be an adult. It is scary and not ok. Mortgages, taxes, insurance, buying food, preparing food, buying gas. As much as I would like to move out of my parents house I know that I just do not have to life skills or means to do that just yet. I will get there but the first stop on this train to independence is a job and this internship could be the stepping stone to what could be amazing opportunities.

This is the first internship where once it ends I won’t be heading back to school. UMW and I have parted ways and I am scared that I might not be able to achieve what I want to. I want to work. I want to learn what it takes. I see the bar and I intend to not just clear it but leave plenty of room to spare.

2 thoughts on “Internship for Summer 2013: National Rural Electric Cooperative Association

Leave a comment